Happy Valley-Goose Bay Fire Department

We have a dedicated group of volunteer firefighters who have served for an average of 20 years with the Department. The Fire Department also includes a full-time Fire Chief, three District Chiefs and four full-time firefighters.

The Town’s Fire Station services the Upper Lake Melville area, including 150kms on the Trans-Labrador Highway. Our volunteer firefighters provide fire and emergency services within town limits. The Department’s Jaws of Life and accident emergency services extend 150km on the Trans-Labrador Highway West Route 500 to Cache River, South Route 510 to Crook’s Lake, the North West River Highway and Route 520.


Non Emergency Number: 896-2212

Emergency Number: 896-2222

Location: 210 Hamilton River Rd (next to the Town Hall)

The Fire Station is operated 24/7

Apply to be a Volunteer Firefighter

Interested in being a Volunteer Firefighter with the Town of Happy Valley-Goose Bay?

Fill out our Volunteer Firefighter Application and submit it to our Fire Chief, Brad Butler in one of the following ways:

  1. Drop it off at the Town Hall
  2. Email- [email protected]
  3. Fax- 896-9454
  4. Mail – Attn: Fire Chief, PO Box 40, Stn B, Happy Valley-Goose Bay NL, A0P 1E0


  • Brad Butler – Fire Chief
  • Robert Hinks – Deputy Fire Chief/ Fire Inspector
  • John “Scotty” Lorimer – Deputy Fire Chief
  • Vince Rowe – Captain
  • Brian Brown – Captain
  • Jamie Mullaly – Lieutenant
  • Mike Bessey – LIeutenant

Full-Time Firefighters

  • Ramsey White
  • Rick Harvey
  • Don Webber
  • Jim Saunders Jr.

Volunteer Firefighters

  • Patrick Adams
  • Jeremy Anderson
  • Tom Anthony
  • Kyle Clarke
  • Al Durno
  • Martin Dyson
  • Andy Eddy
  • Chris Edmunds
  • Jamie Fox
  • Matt Horwood
  • Brad Keats
  • Justine King
  • Andrew Lefresne
  • Blair McLean
  • Jerry Michelin
  • Carl Oldford
  • Mike Parsons
  • Randy Rose
  • Dwayne Rumbolt
  • Brandon Snow
  • Maurice “Buzz” Thevenet
  • George Way
  • Jamie Way
  • Paul West
  • Kelcie Winters
  • Darrell Wiseman

Honorary Firefighters

20+ Years of Service to the Fire Department

  • Tom Abbott
  • Joseph “Tex” Arsenault
  • Ron Battcock
  • Tony Coish
  • Martin Connors
  • Max Duffett
  • Edgar Hawkins
  • Steve Healey
  • Israel Hughes
  • John Hynes
  • Scott Lyall
  • Dave Massie
  • Cliff McLean
  • Howard Michelin
  • Robert Nippard
  • James Saunders Sr.
  • Karl Saunders
  • Ern Stickley


210 Hamilton River RoadHappy Valley-Goose Bay, NLCanadaA0P 1E0

Hours of Operation

  • Weekdays: 24/7
  • Weekends: 24/7

Happy Valley-Goose Bay App

Want to have Public Service Announcements and important community updates delivered to your smartphone or tablet? Then we have just the thing for you… The Happy Valley-Goose Bay App is available to download, free of charge, on the App Store for Apple devices and Google Play for Android devices. Download yours today and stay up to date on what’s happening in our community.

Click Here